email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

21 April


LAC Sala Teatro

Tariff A



Orchestra Mozart

Bernard Haitink conductor / Martin Helmchen piano

Easter programmeEaster ConcertOrchestra


The opening programme is a celebration of light and youthful freshness: it opens with the Overture to Mendelssohn's Midsummer Night's Dream in which the subtle play of theatre in theatre and the supernatural elements of Celtic mythology create a dimension between dream and reality. This is enhanced by Mendelssohn's music, which fully captures the fairytale world of Shakespeare's masterpiece. Mozart's Piano Concerto in E-flat major – performed by Martin Helmchen, a young pianist who has gained a prominent position on the international stage - also shows a taste of youth. The Andante, a movement of great expressive immediacy, is undoubtedly one of the most overwhelming pieces ever written by Mozart. In this Fifth Symphony, Schubert still shows a close acquaintance with Mozart's style. Freshness, balance and emotional intimacy will be reunited in this concert conducted by Bernard Haitink, one of the greatest conductors of our time. Pure joyful ecstasy!

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
A Midsummer Night's Dream, op. 61

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.22 in E-flat major, K.482

Franz Schubert
Symphony No.5 n B flat major, D.485

The full programme of the two chamber music concerts and the various activities of the Caffè degli Artisti will be announced in February.