email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

© Sven Lorenz

Orchestre de la Suisse Romande - Boléro from Ravel

Jonathan Nott conductor / Emmanuel Pahud flute

OrchestraThe 1920sArtist in residence


The Orchestre de la Suisse Romande was called upon by the most famous composers of the last century, including Stravinsky whose Symphonies of Wind Instruments (a tribute to Debussy's death) will be conducted by the OSR's Music Director Jonathan Nott. Maurice Ravel also felt at home in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. The concert includes his iconic Boléro as well as a rare orchestral transcription of Gaspard de la Nuit. Keeping up with its tradition of prestigious commissions, the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande will present an important new work, the Eric Montalbetti's Flute Concerto, with the incomparable virtuoso Emmanuel Pahud - this year's Artist-in-residence at LuganoMusica - as soloist.

Igor Stravinsky
Symphonies of Wind Instruments (in memory of Claude Debussy)
(1947 revision)

Eric Montalbetti
Concerto for flute and orchestra

Maurice Ravel
Gaspard de la nuit (orchestrated by Marius Constant)